top of page

Finding the Joy 5 Minutes at a Time

Updated: Aug 5, 2022

Sometimes bringing joy into the classroom has to be intentional. Some days that joy is found easily and sometimes it takes a little work. I have found that when I start class with something "fun", interesting, quirky, etc....just 3-5 minutes, and the energy in the room really brightens up.

I have found this works wonders to help build relationships with kids in your class. Here are some ideas that I use to keep my class inviting and relaxed. The kids really do love it and it makes teaching enjoyable.


Fat Bear Week

So explore.org has amazing live streams. One of the most popular, are the bears at Brook Falls in Katmai. You can find it here: https://explore.org/livecams/brown-bears/brown-bear-salmon-cam-brooks-falls. I like to play this live stream as kids walk into class or if they are doing independent work.

Fat Bear Week Shirt! A gift from a student that will always be in my favorites pile.

The best part is actual Fat Bear Week! Fat bear week: https://explore.org/fat-bear-week happens in late September/early October after the bears have had all summer to fatten up on fish. The competition has a bear bracket, where you can vote for your favorite bear. I like to put up a QR code and let students spend 2-3 minutes voting for a bear. If you google search there are some YouTube videos about some some of the bears, I like to show those too, one every other day or so up until the bracket launches. It helps kids invest into a bear of their choice.


March Mammal Madness

This happens in the spring and is so much fun! Basically a bunch of animals (not just mammals) get thrown onto a giant bracket, just like basketball March Madness. Then videos are put out about the battles that occur, pushing one animal on to the next round. The videos are all about the adaptations and the outcome isn't always a bloody fight---sometimes one just runs away. It's fun to listen to the kids boo the video when that happens, but it's all apart of life. Kids all fill out a bracket and I award trophies and animal crackers the top finishers. Check it out here: https://libguides.asu.edu/MarchMammalMadness/2022mmm


Wordle

Now this one may have outgrown it's trend....but it was still fun. I created my own Wordles with biology terms, and the kids raced to see who could finish them, or who could finish them in the least amount of tries. It only takes a few minutes, and the kids were surprisingly more into this than I had anticipated. Here are a few: https://mywordle.me/?word=tmchx and https://mywordle.me/?word=rwixd.


Giants, Wizards, and Elves

Now, I wouldn't start with this day 1....this takes a little relationship building first, for kids to really trust the game. It is sooo much fun! BTW...I teach 14-15 year olds...and they love it. Just split the class in half to make two teams. Directions below.

Quirky, Social Media

You don't have to do anything super organized either. Sometimes, while I am scrolling Instagram, TikTok, FB, Twitter...whatever, if I come across a funny video, joke, meme, whatever...I save it and then when I need something light-hearted to start class I add it to my Google Slides agenda. Here's an example.

Gratitude Week

I spend a week, usually in November, starting the class each day with something we are thankful for. We build a gratitude wall. Sticky notes are laid out on the desks, I have a prompt at the front of the room on my agenda slides, and kids write their answer then stick the sticky note on a section of our wall. Gratefulness, being thankful, works wonders for mental health but it also gives us a lot of perspective. Here's a video I show to start he week: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JMd1CcGZYwU&t=2s . Prompts can be really simple...Here area few I have used in the past:

  • What tradition are you grateful for?

  • What is something ordinary/small (not technology or appliances) you use daily that you are grateful for?

  • What talent or skill are you grateful for?

  • What food are you grateful for?

  • What family member or friend are you grateful for?

I also encourage the kids to write a note to a staff member (teacher, principal, counselor, janitorial staff, cafeteria, security) and express their gratitude. I deliver them throughout the week. It's a blessing to everyone.


Do you have any fun things you like to do in class? Comment and share! If you like this post, share it with your teacher friends. I'd love to be able to share this content and help out as many teachers as we can. This profession is too important!


Happy Teaching!

Mrs. Townsend

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page